C18 park and woodland, now in use as a hotel. Originally C17 deer park extending to 3000a. Icehouse and lakes in farmland; large walled kitchen garden adjoining house; ruined fragment of earlier house c1700.
Early C18 park on older site. Admired by Collinson in 1791, improved first half C19 by then occupant Mary Day (d.1846). Land attached to house now much reduced. Features include superb specimen trees;
walled kitchen garden; Italian garden; sunken garden on site of C19 pond; rockery.
C19 garden, famous for its association with the diarist. the Rev. John Skinner, c1800-39. Walls to original 2a. garden survive, as does mature tree and shrub planting, and remains of circular pond.
House rebuilt 1840.
C18 park and formal garden. Remodelled 1980s.
Canal and some mature planting survive from C18 layout. New garden features include a temple, a cascade, two gazebos, a formal pond with fountain and urns, an orangery, statuary, paths and realigned driveways, as well as major replanting.
Laid out in 1887 by John Milburn under direction of J.W. Morris, on the site of abortive predecessor of 1840, and extended eastwards in 1930. Their aim was to combine picturesque principles with the function of housing the C.E. Broome plant collection. Well preserved, extensive rockeries, fish pond, large botanic collection. Summerhouse, erected by Bath Corporation at Wembley in 1924 for the British Empire Collection, and re-erected at present site when the garden was enlarged in 1926; stone bridges. Adjoins Royal Victoria Park (qv).