School grounds on C18 parkland: terraces; ha-ha;
steps to parkland, remodelled as playing fields “in
memory of the old Colstonians who fell in the war
1939-45”; icehouse; mature woodland riverside walks
with rubble wails; remains of bathing pool in River
Frome; earlier quarries remodelled as picturesque
features, especially Black Rocks, probably early C19,
possible involvement of Humphry Repton.
Stapleton & Frome Valley Conservation Area.
- Associated Buildings
School formerly Stapleton House (LB II) early C18,
altered 1841-45 by Decimus Burton for Bishop of
Bristol, extended 1861 and after for Colston School;
gateway (LB II) C20; icehouse C18.